You can Download Chapter 6 Socio-Religious Reform Movement In Medieval India Questions and Answers, Notes, 2nd PUC History Question Bank with Answers Karnataka State Board Solutions help you to revise complete Syllabus and score more marks in your examinations.

Karnataka 2nd PUC History Question Bank Chapter 8 Map Work

Instruction : Out of the 20 places any 8 will be asked of which students have to mark 5 places on the outline map of India. Five marks will be awarded for marking the places correctly and five marks for writing the historical importance of each marked place in two sentences.

  1. Harappa: It is one of the important sites of Indus Civilization. It is located on the banks of the river Ravi, now in Montegomary district of Punjab in Pakistan. Dayaram Sahani excavated this site in 1921. The great granary is an important building found here.
  2. Taxila (Takshashila): It was the capital of the Gandhara Province now in Pakistan. Takshashila University was an important educational centre in ancient India. Kautilya (Chanukya) was a teacher in this University.
  3. Pataliputra: It is the capital of Bihar State, now called as Patna, which is on the banks of the river Ganga. It was the capital of the Magadha Empire, the Mauryas and the Guptas rule.
  4. Badami: The early name of Badami was Vatapi and it was the capital of the Chalukyas. It is famous for rock-cut cave temples. It is in Bagalkote district of Karnataka.
  5. Kanchi (Kanchipuram): It is near Chennai in TamilNadu. It was the capital of the Pallavas. The city is famous for Shaiva and Vaishanava temples. The famous Kamakshi temple is located here.
  6. Halebeedu: It’s early name was Dhwarasamudra and it was the capital of the Hoysalas. The Hoysaleshwara and Shantaleshwara temples are found here. It is in Ilassan district of Karnataka,
  7. Delhi: It is presenty the capital of India, located on the banks of river Jamuna. It was the capital of the Delhi Sultanate and the Mughals. Many monuments like Qutub Minar, Red Fort, Jami Masjid etc., are located here.
  8. Devagiri: It is in Maharastra. Alla-ud-din-Khilji led many expeditions on Devagiri. Mohammad-Bin-Tughalak shifted his capital from Delhi to Devagiri for a short while. Devagiri was renamed as Daulatabad.
  9. Panipat: It is in Haryana state, It was a great battle field in the history of India where three great battles were fought.
  10. Agra: It is situated on the banks of river Jamuna in U.P. It was founded by Sikandar Lodhi. It became the capita! of Akbar. Taj Mahal is the most famous monument of Agra.
  11. Hampi: It is situated on the banks of river Tungabhadra (Bellary). It was the capital of the Vijayanagara empire. Virupaksha temple, Vijayavittalaswamy temple, Stone chariot etc., are the noteworthy monuments here.
  12. Bidar: It was the capital city of the Bahamani Kingdom. Here Mahamud Gawan built
    a Madarasa.
  13. Bijapura (Vijapura): It was the capital of Adil Shahis. Monuments like Golgumbaz, Ibrahim Rauza, Asar Mahal, Bara Kaman etc are found here.
  14. Calcutta: It is the capital of West Bengal, situated on the banks of river Hoogli. Calcutta was the first Capital of the British in India. Swami Vivekananda established the Ramakrishna Mission at Belur near Calcutta.
  15. Bombay: It is the capital of Maharashtra. It was the main British settlement in India. The first session of the Indian National Congress was held here in 1885.
  16. Pondicherry: It is a Union territory located on the east coast of India (Coramandal Coast). It was the capital of the French in India. It played an important role during the Carnatic wars.
  17. Srirangapattana: It is located on the banks of river Cauvery and is in the Mandya district. It was the capital of the early Wodeyars of Mysore, Hyder Ali and Tippu sultan. The town contains many historical monuments like the Fort, Daria Daulat place, Lalbag, Tombs of Hyder and Tippu, Ranganatha Temple etc.
  18. Meerut: It is in Uttar Pradesh. The first war of Indian Independence started at Meerut. The sepoys broke out into open revolt against the British on 10th May 1857.
  19. Jalian Walabagh: It is located in the city of Amritsar in Punjab. During the freedom movement, General Dyer massacred here unarmed people who were protesting the Rowlatt Acton 13th April 1919.
  20. Dandi: Dandi is a coastal town in Gujarat. Mahatma Gandhi launched his famous Dandi March in 1930. Gandhi and his followers collected seawater and made salt and deliberately violated the salt law.

KSEEB Solutions

Places of Historical Importance

2nd PUC History Question Bank Chapter 8 Map Work - 1

KSEEB Solutions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *